Career Path – Cardiac Technologist

I’ve been all torn up inside about my future career. I feel like I’ve been looking in all the wrong places (or rather, not looking at all). I’ve been content to just want to go for any career that is visible to me. Nursing, teaching, paramedic, physiotherapist. I kept thinking, “there must be other things I’m not seeing.” There are so many jobs within the hospital besides doctors and nurses. I prayed to God to please lead me to a career path that is suited to me. This morning I woke up and actually decided to look for a change. I found an online health career catalog put out by a hospital in BC.  In it I found a multiple of really cool sounding jobs that I’ve never heard of before. It was exactly what I needed. In it I found the job description for a Cardiac Technologist, and it sounded pretty darn cool.

The Cardiology Technologist, performs a variety of
non-invasive cardiology procedures (such as ECG,
treadmill, stress tests) and routine maintenance of
equipment. Using a personal computer and related
software, performs database functions, including
editing of electrocardiograms, storage and retrieval of
cardiac records, and related clerical duties.

First of all, it is the strangest coincidence that the ECG and treadmill stress tests are exactly what I am learning about right now in my Advanced Fitness Assessment class. Unbelievable. I almost fell out my chair when I read this description. So I decided to look up how to become one. They offer it at the BCIT, which I though, OK going to BC wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world. But then I read that it is a distance and online program. BINGO. I can stay in Halifax and work on getting my diploma! And another great thing about getting certified as a cardiac technologist is that there seems to be a pretty good job demand!

I’m so happy right now. I feel like God’s hand led me right to this with perfect timing.

Leave a Reply

