Resolutions

January 2015

I have to admit – I completely forgot to make New Year resolutions this year. January 1st came and went just like any other day and kind of melted into the haze I’m in. I’m going to blame this on being a new mom. But when I finally woke up to the fact that it’s 2015, I decided that I wanted to make an effort to put a tone to my year by making a few resolutions.

I am a big fan of realistic goals. Let’s just say that losing 20 pounds is not on my list. Not that it is not achievable, but I know that in my mind that kind of number seems far off. I would rather make a resolution about the process rather than the end goal.

My list includes 4 areas: spiritual, physical, creative, and intellectual.

SPIRITUAL

Of all the presents I received this year, my most treasured is the Book of Christian Prayers that my husband gave me. Can I just say how thankful I am to have someone who cares about my holiness!? My resolution is to read at least one of the hours a day. I am really pumped about this because since having Joe, my prayer life has been fairly non-existent. When I do find a few minutes to myself, I struggle to find focus and can’t enter into prayer. The Hours seem to say the words of my heart for me…and it only takes about 15 minutes to pray!

PHYSICAL

I love health and fitness, and they have always been an important part of my life. I was at the gym 2 days before Joe was born (that’s about 41 weeks pregnant btw!). I have found since having him that my gym attendance has been spotty at best. My resolution is to follow the Canadian recommendations for physical activity– 150 minutes of moderate to vigorous activity a week. That’s only 30 min 5x a week…or 21 min a day! I did this resolution 3 years ago. It felt like I was doing so little, but in 2 months I lost 5 pounds! That doesn’t seem like much…but when I think about how little it cost me to do 150 minutes, it was well worth it!

CREATIVE

When I was a campus missionary, we held social events weekly. This provided me with so many opportunities to practice my photography skills. Now that I am on maternity leave, I don’t have the same easy access to photographic experiences.  My resolution in this category is to take one picture a week. I bought a book that includes cool ideas I would never have thought about on my own, but also post processing projects as well. Yay!

INTELLECTUAL

Since finishing university 2 1/2 years ago, my motivation to pick up a book is almost nil. I used to read all the time – going to second hand bookstores was one of my favorite ways to spend money. With the combination of university ruining my love of reading and my addiction to social media, any “reading” I do is almost exclusively spent parousing sites online. I am not proud of this. Which is why I have decided to spend 10 minutes a day reading. Books. With real paper pages. Priority is going to books that teach me something, but I am not opposed to picking up a book to read simply for pleasure.

Here we go! A year of simple, yet attainable resolutions 🙂

One thought on “Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Physical Activity Update: Week 2 | Sincerely, Mallory

Leave a Reply

