Thrifty Find: Scrabble

Josh and I have a slight addiction to board games. We especially love vintage board games. It all started around Halloween, when we found this amazing vintage VHS Clue game at Value Village. From then we were hooked. We go at least once a week and scour their board game section. I don’t feel so bad about it. For $2.99 that’s a pretty cheap date.

On our list of “must-have” games was Scrabble. Sure, we could have bought it brand-new in the store…they aren’t exactly hard to find. Apparently, 1 in 3 American homes own a Scrabble board. But we were determined that this was a game we could pick up at VV, with it being so common at all. Could you believe that we have never come across a board in our months of searching!? NOT ONE. That was until this week. We happened across a mint-condition board from 1977. It has a lazy Susan feature, and divots for the tiles. Genius. I think all boards should come like that. The divots are especially helpful when young hands knock the board…all the pieces don’t go flying!

We found this beautiful vintage Scrabble box.

We found this beautiful vintage Scrabble box.

I have a confession to make…I’ve never played a real game of Scrabble. My mom bought us Scrabble junior when we were kids and I might have played MAYBE 3 times.

From 1977!

From 1977!

I’ve discovered the beauty of Scrabble is that you don’t actually have to be playing all the time. Josh would make a play while I was sleeping. Then leave me a note to say it’s my turn.  I would play when he was at work. Etc.

Scrabble is most enjoyable with beer

Scrabble is most enjoyable with beer

But then it’s such a nice leisurely game to enjoy together over beer.

My first ever Scrabble game!

My first ever Scrabble game!

I’m happy to say that I won!

Victors!

Victors!

I’m excited to play many more games of Scrabble in the future 🙂

Sincerely, Mallory

One thought on “Thrifty Find: Scrabble

  1. Pingback: Board Game Tuesday: UpWords | Sincerely, Mallory

Leave a Reply

