All the little flowers

The Little Way. Photo by gsheller.com

The Little Way. Photo by gsheller.com

Jesus deigned to teach me this mystery.  He set before me the book of nature; I understood how all the flowers He has created are beautiful, how the splendour of the rose and the whiteness of the lily do not take away the perfume of the little violet or the delightful simplicity of the daisy.  I understood that if all flowers wanted to be roses, nature would lose her springtime beauty, and the fields would no longer be decked out with little wild flowers.  And so it is in the world of souls, Jesus’ garden.  He willed to create great souls comparable to lilies and roses, but he has created smaller ones and these must be content to be daisies or violets destined to give joy to God’s glances when He looks down at His feet.  Perfection consists in doing His will, in being what He wills us to be.  Just as the sun shines simultaneously on the tall cedars and on each little flower as though it were alone on the earth, so our Lord is occupied particularly with each soul as though there were no others like it.  And just as in nature all the seasons are arranged in such a way as to make the humblest daisy bloom on a set day, in the same way, everything works out for the good of each soul.”

From Story of a Soul by St. Therese of Lisieux

st-therese-of-lisieux

St. Therese of Lisieux

I was reading the chapter on St. Therese in My Life With The Saints  by James Martin SJ this morning, and this passage really struck me. Firstly, because it is spring here in Halifax and I saw my first bloom of the year (crocuses, thank you for being you and blooming first to remind everyone how glorious spring is). spring crocus in Halifax Nova ScotiaSecondly  because really needed to be reminded of how beautifully individual and unique we all are. How I am. How refreshing is it to hear that “…our Lord is occupied particularly with each soul as though there were no others like it.” Thank you, Therese, for speaking such true and beautiful words! I find I so often compare myself to others, when I should be happily content with how I was created to be uniquely me. What would springtime be without crocuses!?

Leave a Reply

