Let me be kind

I get stressed and anxious when Joseph doesn’t have a good night’s sleep (which means I don’t get a good night’s sleep). When I wake up tired, I feel like I don’t have the mental faculties to deal with the day, and I get this overwhelmed feeling. This morning was like that. He was up at 6 am after a fairly short night’s sleep, even by my own sleep standards. I felt that familiar wave of frustration and stress, that I just can’t deal with this right now. Unfortunately, Josh was in my path. I smelled brewing coffee, which made my spirits lift slightly. I was very let down when I saw that there wasn’t any for me.

“You didn’t make me any?”

“Oh, sorry. I thought you would go back to bed”

I replied, rather sharply, “Kind of hard to go to bed when Joseph is wide awake.”

He quickly brewed me some, even though he was rushing to get out the door to drive his brother to work so that I could have the car. He didn’t respond to my crankiness with his own, and for that I am thankful. He was kind, and sacrificed, even if it was small, to make me feel better by making me coffee.

As I put Joseph down for a nap and took some prayer time, my daily scripture reading was from Phillipians

Rejoice in the Lord always. I shall say it again: Rejoice! Your kindness should be known to all. The Lord is near. Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Phil 4:4-7

Nothing but the wisdom of God can speak into my life like that! I am not kind when I am stressed or anxious. I need to keep reminding myself that when I feel those stressed or anxious feelings, to bring those things to God. To tell him what I want and what I need. “God, I need and want Joseph to sleep. I am feeling overwhelmed with tiredness and frustration. Please give me the graces I need to deal with this situation.” Then the peace of God will be present within my heart. And I will be able to respond to my husband and child with the kindness they deserve.

Sure enough, I felt renewed, and vowed to make the most of a beautiful day with the car. I decided to take Joseph to Sir Sandford Fleming Park. It’s a beautiful park just off of Purcell’s Cove Road that overlooks the Northwest Arm. It’s on the land that was formerly owned by Sir Sandford Fleming, the man who invented universal standard time! I didn’t get any pictures, but there are actually sundials all over the park…so cool!

The Northwest Arm. It was just so beautiful with the sun hitting the water.

The Northwest Arm. It was just so beautiful with the sun hitting the water.

A great little park  by the water. I will have to come back when Joseph is old enough to play!

A great little park by the water. I will have to come back when Joseph is old enough to play!

The stunning Dingle Tower

The stunning Dingle Tower

Such a gorgeous day

Such a gorgeous day

When we had enough, we went to go visit Josh at work for his lunch break. We took a walk on Dalhousie’s campus, got Tim Horton’s and walked some more. I love Dal’s campus…so beautiful!

Joe loves his daddy!

Joe loves his daddy!

Oh gosh. That little baby belly gets me every time.

Oh gosh. That little baby belly gets me every time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

