My kitchen herb garden: the seedlings

April-16It all started with a Diffenbachia plant I bought from Walmart for $2.99 when we first moved in 2 years ago. I almost killed it, then brought it back to life. I’ve been nurturing that plant since, moving it to where the best light is, giving it plant food, making several cuttings and growing successful transplants. I’ve also managed to keep my poinsettia and Easter lily going strong. My windowsills are getting full! I just love watching these plants grow; I find it so life giving!

Josh and I have recently discovered how wonderful fresh herbs are for cooking. We wanted to see if we could start some of our own seedlings so we could have access to a variety of fresh herbs. I know I could go and buy mature plants, but I’m using this as a therapeutic exercise šŸ™‚

I planted thyme, oregano, chives, dill, and sage. I have no idea if this will work, but I am excited to see! Joseph is obsessed with my little seed pods, and tries very hard to get his hands on them. I can only image how fun they must seem to him haha. Hopefully I can keep them safe from all predators šŸ˜‰

I watched a lot of YouTube videos, and found this one really helpful for planting seedlings using the Jiffy peat moss pods.

April-17 April-18 April-19 April-20 April-21 April-22 April-23

One thought on “My kitchen herb garden: the seedlings

  1. Pingback: My green thumb is actually brown | Sincerely, Mallory

Leave a Reply

