The Best Of: April 2016

April -26

I never want to forget how angelic he is when he sleeps.

If I could sum up April with one word it would be: sick. I kid you not! I have been sick this whole month. It was long and it was tough, but it looks like I am almost on the side of healthy, and I am so so so grateful for it. To quote Anne of Green Gables, this month I feel as if I truly went through the “depths of despair”! I know this sounds dramatic, but there were definitely some real moments of depression. However, I think I am coming out on top!

Sleeping babies are my happy place.

Sleeping babies are my happy place.

I am thankful for this month’s “best of” because it shows me that I was able to see beauty, even when I wasn’t feeling it 90% of the time. We didn’t do a whole lot this month (for obvious reasons), but I still managed to capture some happy moments.

At the beginning of April we went to Hatfield Farm in Hammonds Plains, NS. The weather wasn’t great, but I am just so happy to get out and active! We got to feed some animals, play on the swing set, but the highlight was definitely having hotdogs with our friend Hillary!

One highlight that I didn’t manage to get any pictures of with my good camera was my mom’s visit. Josh had to go away for business for a number of days, so my mom came to stay with Joseph and I. It was a huge lifesaver. It’s not that Joseph is too much to handle, but I go a little nuts when I am by myself without anyone to talk to. Although I have to say, the extra set of hands was definitely welcome, especially when it came to walking Penny. Joseph had a chance to get to know his Nana, and he really loves her. He would give her the cutest sly little smile, and she taught him how to say peek-a-boo.

Another highlight: a couple of days ago I got a new camera for my photography business. I’ve had my old DSLR for 6 years now, and it was definitely time for an upgrade. After months of deliberation, we decided that it was a good move for my business to upgrade. But I kept putting it off. New cameras are expensive! We had the money saved, but I don’t know, for some reason I just wouldn’t do it. I found an amazing deal on a used camera at a local camera shop a couple of weeks ago. I called them to see if they still had it, and they did! Josh made me go and get it. A Nikon D750. I’m still learning how to use it, but so far I really love it. It is a huge upgrade from my D5100 and I think it is a good investment for my photography.

So here’s to the month of May, and all of the happy memories I am determined to capture with my fun new toy 🙂

Hatfield farms has the amazing giant swing set. Joe was in love

Hatfield Farm has the most amazing giant swing set. Joe was in love.

He was also in love with my friend Hilary.

He was also in love with my friend Hilary.

April-4 April-5 April-9 April-10 April-11 April-12

This kid was made to be outdoors

This kid was made to be outdoors

April-14

First pictures with my new camera!!!!

First pictures with my new camera!!!!

April-27

This is a picture of folded laundry. BUT LOOK AT THE DETAIL.

This is a picture of folded laundry. BUT LOOK AT THE DETAIL.

Coffee and story time. Such a funny kid :D

Coffee and story time. Such a funny kid 😀

April-30

Our Penny is such a good girl and is so patient with Joseph.

Our Penny is such a good girl and is so patient with Joseph.

April -29 April -28

One thought on “The Best Of: April 2016

  1. Mallory Brisson

    Awe that was such a nice thing to read Mallory. It was such a wonderful time the week I spent with you and Joseph. He is so adorable and I live that he got to know me. He surprised me at playing peel a boo when he did it back to me in a he car it was so cute. Love you all so much hope to spend more time soon. Xo

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

