Weekends and Key Lime Pie

May-42This weekend was a huge success for me because I got to count strike #2 for the Key Lime Pie that I want to include in our family cookbook! I am so excited about this, because this cookbook is pretty much all I can think about these days and I am so eager to have completed recipes to add to it. As I mentioned before, a recipe needs to be made 3 times before it can be included. And it needs to be consistently good.

This Key Lime Pie is amazing. Like, it is so good. My husband doesn’t really enjoy dessert, or pie, but he has said that this IS HIS FAVORITE DESSERT. EVER. I know you don’t know him, but this is a pretty big deal. He had two pieces.

Plus, it is so easy. Pies can be hard and time consuming. I finished this one by 11 am.

The best part? Joseph “helped” me make the lime filling and the whipped cream. Cooking with kids can be stressful, messy, and completely inefficient. Yet, including him in the process brings me a ridiculous amount of joy. He just loves cooking so much.

I’m not sure if I am allowed to put the recipe on the internet, but if you are interested, its from The America’s Test Kitchen Cooking School Cookbook.

And that book? Holy crow it is amazing. I don’t know how to cook, and it makes me feel (and taste) like I can. Everything we’ve made from it is so so so good. And it is so educational and thorough! It has pictures and detailed instructions on the how-to for many classic American recipes. We are going to have a lot of recipes in our family cookbook from here. It has been the best 50$ I’ve spent at Chapters, hands down.

Joe scribbled all over the page. I'm not even mad. In fact, I dated it, so that when I hand it down I can tell him about how much he loved helping me in the kitchen.

Joe scribbled all over the page. I’m not even mad. In fact, I dated it, so that when I hand it down I can tell him about how much he loved helping me in the kitchen.

May-41  May-43 May-44

Leave a Reply

